呼吸过滤器

 

呼吸过滤器可防止患者接触和传播细菌和病毒,有助于消除交叉感染的风险。静电过滤器通过介质中的静态电荷过滤微生物。皱纸过滤器也称为机械过滤器,内有多层紧凑的混合纤维,以物理方式阻止细菌和病毒通过。

过滤器和 HMEF 的性能

使用过滤器时应考虑以下几个重要性能:

过滤效用

在危重症护理中,每天 1-3% 的插管水平会导致多达 10-15% 的气管插管患者患肺炎。这些感染患者的住院时间可能延长 4-9 天,在所有住院死亡病例中,其占比高达 15%。

由此可见过滤器的有效性对防止患者与通气设备之间发生交叉感染起到至关重要的作用。富利凯过滤器可高效保护患者免受细菌和病毒感染,其有效性已经过位于英国索尔兹伯里波顿镇的健康保护署的独立测试认证。富利凯过滤器能在整个建议使用期限内保持高效。

最小无效腔和最小压降

滤波器的外壳必须实现最小无效腔,同时确保高速气体能在最小阻力(压降)通过过滤介质。富利凯过滤器和 HMEF 平衡了这些关键要求,在维持最小无效腔的同时实现最小气流阻力。

重量轻且符合人体工学设计

富利凯过滤器和 HMEF 采用符合人体工学的圆形设计,能防止给患者造成压痕或带来不适。轻质设计减少了对呼吸回路的拖曳,通过其透明的材质可以用肉眼观察到是否有分泌物堵塞或累积。

加湿能力

通过使用 HMEF 提供被动加湿,有助于降低插管患者肺不张、上皮损伤和粘膜纤毛传输能力降低等风险,预防呼吸机相关肺炎的发病。

建议的1 HMEF 加湿量标准是:吸入空气温度为 30oC 时,加湿水平应至少为 30mg/L H2O。经英国医疗用品署 (MDA) 独立测试验证,富利凯 HMEF 的性能超过此项最低加湿量输出水平。


1AARC 临床实践指南: 有创和无创机械通气中的加湿: 2012 年。

Breathing Filters

 

Breathing filters help eliminate the risk of cross-infection by preventing the transfer of bacteria and viruses to and from the patient. Electrostatic filters retain micro-organisms through the static electric charge in the medium. The tightly packed layers of mixed fibre strands in pleated paper filters, also known as mechanical filters, physically prevent bacteria and viruses from passing through.

Properties of Filters and HMEF's

When considering filters a number of important properties should be taken into account:

Filtration Efficiency

In Critical Care as many as 10-15% of invasively ventilated patients develop pneumonia at a rate of 1-3% per day of intubation. These infections may prolong hospital stays by 4-9 days and contribute to as many as 15% of all hospital deaths.

From this, it is evident that filtration efficiency is paramount to protect the patients and ventilators from cross contamination. Flexicare filters maintain protection against bacteria and viruses at a very high level of efficiency, confirmed by independent testing by the Health Protection Agency at Porton Down, Salisbury, UK. Flexicare filters maintain their high level of efficiency during the recommended period of use.

Minimal Dead Space and Minimal Pressure Drop

The filter housing must present the smallest dead space possible whilst at the same time allowing high gas flow with minimal resistance (pressure drop) through the filter media. Flexicare Filters and HMEF's  incorporate a balance between these critical requirements to create a filter with minimal resistance to flow combined with a low dead space.

Lightweight and Ergonomically Shaped

The rounded ergonomic shape of Flexicare Filters and HMEF's prevent pressure marks or discomfort for the patient. The lightweight design reduces drag on breathing systems and the clear material permits visual examination for potential occlusion or accumulation of secretions.

Humidification Abilities

The passive humidification provided by the use of an HMEF helps counteract the risk of actelectasis, epithelial damage and impairment of the mucocilary transport system in intubated patients, resisting the onset Ventilator Associated Pneumonia.

It is recommended1 that HMEF humidification levels should be at least 30mg/L H2O at an inspired air temperature of 30oC. Independent testing by the Medical Devices Agency (MDA) verifies that Flexicare HMEF's exceed this minimum moisture output performance.


1AARC Clinical Practice Guideline: Humidification During Invasive and Noninvasive Mechanical Ventilation: 2012.